Note: This is a list of frequently asked questions about privacy. It is not GetSet’s official Privacy Statement. Click here to read our Privacy Statement.
General privacy information
You can control the visibility of most information you provide on GetSet (your posts, the interests you've selected, and the about me bio you’ve written) through privacy settings. This guide includes specific information about what settings can be changed and who can see what information.
When we refer to students in this guide, we're referring to current students, prospective students, and alumni.
Information on GetSet can be:
- Shared: other students on GetSet and other students at your school can see it; faculty and staff at your school can see it.
- Private: you are the only student who can see it; faculty and staff at your school can see it.
- Deleted: No one, including you, other students, faculty, and school staff, can see your deleted information, except in specific situations as outlined below.
Students, prospective students, and alumni
GetSet's Student Community is an online community for students to connect, share, and learn from each other. When we refer to students in this guide, we're referring to current students, prospective students, and alumni.
When you share information on GetSet, other students can see it. Other students can not see your private or deleted information.
Faculty and staff at your school
GetSet is provided by your school, so faculty and staff at your school can see the information you provide on GetSet. Faculty and staff may refer to administrators, instructors, advisors, or other staff, depending on your school. Faculty and staff at your school can see your shared and private information, but not your deleted information.
Although they can see your information, faculty and staff can't interact with you on GetSet. For example, they can't like or comment on your posts.
GetSet employees can see your information in order to do their jobs. For example, if you send us a help request, our support team may need to look at your activity or profile in order to answer your question. GetSet employees can always see all of your information, including your private and deleted information, but we will never share your information with anyone (other than as described here).
Students at your school can see the parts of your profile that you’ve chosen to make visible. You can change the visibility of certain profile elements (your about me and your interests) in your Account settings.
Keep in mind that if you’re a member of the Student Community, even if you have set your profile details to private, your name and profile photo (if you have one) will still remain visible to all students on GetSet and students at your school so that others can find you.
Faculty and staff at your school can see all of your profile details, regardless of privacy settings you’ve selected.
In your Account settings, you can set your about me or interests to be private, so they’re not visible to other students.
You can remove your profile photo on your Home page. Click on your profile photo and select “remove” to remove your profile photo.
Students at your school can see the posts that you’ve chosen to make visible. You can choose to make a post private at any time, so it is not visible to other students.
Faculty and staff at your school can see the posts you’ve written, including private posts.
To make an existing post private, so that it’s not visible to other students, open the Post options menu (look for the three dots icon in the bottom right of the post) and select "Make private."
To make a post private as you’re creating it, select the “Make this post private” checkbox at the bottom of the new post form.
You can always make a post visible again in the Post options menu.
Students at your school can see the comments that you’ve left on a post.
On your Profile page, you can view and delete any comment you’ve written, even if you can no longer see the post it’s attached to.
Faculty and staff at your school can see the comments you’ve left on a post.
Students at your school can see when you’ve liked a post or comment.
Faculty and staff at your school can see when you’ve liked a post or comment.
All students at your school can see who you’re following.
Faculty and staff at your school can see who you’re following.
All students at your school can see who’s following you.
Faculty and staff at your school can see who’s following you.
All of your followers can see your activity in their feed.
Faculty and staff at your school can see your activity.
To block someone on GetSet, go to their Profile page, open the User options menu (look for the three dots underneath their profile photo), and select the option to block them. Blocking someone means that you and the student you blocked will no longer see each other's profiles, posts, activity, comments, or other information anywhere on GetSet. The student you block won't get a notification that you blocked them.
If you would like to unblock a user, go to your Account settings, select the Blocked users tab, and select the student you'd like to unblock. The student you unblock won't get a notification that you unblocked them.
When you delete your information, it is completely removed from the Student Community and no students, faculty, or school staff can see it, but we retain a secure copy for up to 3 years for legal reasons as outlined below.
Faculty and staff at your school and law enforcement may see your deleted information only in specific circumstances:
- When we have a good faith reason to believe the content may be abusive or may constitute a threat to the health or safety of yourself or others.
- When we are required by law to make information available, such as in response to a court order.
GetSet employees may see your deleted information in the course of performing their job duties, but will never share your information except as outlined here.
You can close your account at any time by emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org with the subject line "Close Account."
Closing your account does not completely delete your information. When you close your account, we remove your information from the Student Community so no students, faculty, or staff can see it, but we retain a secure copy of your information for up to 3 years for legal and audit purposes. (See "Who can see my deleted information?" above for information about these legal requirements.)
Closing your account is permanent. You will no longer be able to log in to GetSet.
If you email us to close your account, please let us know why you're leaving. It may help us improve the community for other students.